Draupadi Murmu: The 15th President of India

In June 2022, the BJP nominated her as the Presidential Candidate, and she was elected President in July 2022. The oath of Draupadi Murmu, for President, was on 25 July 2022.

Draupadi Murmu-Early Life:

Draupadi Murmu was born on 20 June 1958. Her Childhood Santhali name was ‘Puti’ which was changed to Draupadi by her school teacher.

Some important facts related to Draupadi Murmu are:

  • The name of the village Draupadi Murmu belongs to Uparbeda village of Mayurbhanj district in Odisha.
  • She belongs to the Santhali family {scheduled tribe (ST)}.
  • Parents- Biranchi Narayan Tudu.
  • She Married Shyam Charam Murmu, a banker who passed away in 2014.
  • She had two sons, who passed away, and has a daughter Itishri Murmu.
  • Murmu is an Arts Graduate from Rama Devi College, Bhubaneshwar.
  • Draupadi Murmu worked as Junior Assistant in the State Irrigation and Power Department from 1979 to 1983.
  • She worked as a teacher at Sri Aurobindo Integral Education Center at Rairangpur until 1997. There she taught Hindi, Odia, Maths, and Geography.
Draupadi Murmu the 15th President of India - UPSC BPSC UPPSC

Draupadi Murmu the 15th President of India

The political career of Draupadi Murmu:

President Draupadi Murmu is our 15th president and she is very special as she is the youngest and first President born after the independence of India (1947), and also the first president of India who belongs to the Schedule tribe (ST).

Draupadi Murmu is the first person from Odisha elected as President. She is the second woman after Pratibha Patil to become President.

Ascend of her Political career:

Draupadi Murmu started her political career in 1997. She joined the BJP and was elected as Councillor of the Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat in 1997.

  • Under the coalition of BJP and BJD, she was Minister of State with Independent Charge for Commerce and Transportation from 6 March 2000 to 6 August 2002 and,
  • Fisheries and Animal Resources Development from 6 August 2002 to 16 May 2004.
  • In 2009 BJD and BJP Alliance had ended, and she lost the Lok Sabha election from the Mayurbhanj constituency.
  • She received the “Nilkantha Award” in 2007 for the best MLA from the Odisha Legislature Assembly.

Draupadi Murmu as a Governor of Jharkhand – 2015 to 2021

Draupadi Murmu was sworn in as Governor of Jharkhand on 18 May 2015. She was the first woman governor of Jharkhand and the first female tribal leader from Odisha to be appointed as Governor.

  • She approved “The Freedom of Religion Bill 2017, and the Bill to amend the Land Acquisition 2013 Act passed by Jharkhand Assembly.
  • In 2017, Draupadi Murmu as the Governor of Jharkhand refused to give assets to a bill approved by the Jharkhand Legislature Assembly seeking amendments to the Chhotanagpur Tenancy Act 1908, and the Santhal Pargana Tenancy Act 1949.

Nomination for the 2022 Presidential election:

In June 2022 the BJP (Bhartiya Janta Party) nominated Draupadi Murmu as the National Democratic Alliance (NDA’s) Presidential Candidate. She was elected President in July 2022.

Murmu Won the election by getting 64.03% votes against Yashwant Sinha (united opposition) who got 35.97% votes.


You can also read: 💡



You can watch the video


Thank you 🙂

Spread Your Love


Leave a Reply