Nobel Prize 2022

The Nobel Prize and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel were awarded 615 times to 989 people and organizations, between 1901 and 2022. As some received the Nobel prize more than once, this makes a total of 954 individuals and 27 organizations.

  • The First Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901, and they have been awarded annually since then. The Nobel Prizes have not been awarded during world war I (1914-1918) and II (1938-1945).
  • The Nobel Prizes were designated in the will of Alfred Nobel and are in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or medicine, literature, and peace.

The economics prize was established much later and is a memorial prize, as indicated by its full name: the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. It was to celebrate the tercentenary of Sweden’s Central Bank in 1968.

Categories in Nobel prizes:

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Physiology or medicine
  • Literature
  • Peace
  • Economic Sciences

Nobel Prize Laureates 2022:

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. The list of Nobel Prize winners is given in the table below:

Categories in Nobel Prize Nobel Laureates 2022 Work  Picture of Nobel laureates 2022


Alain Aspect (Prize share 1/3)

(University Paris-Saclay and Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, france)

For experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science.


(Entangled states – from theory to technology: Alain Aspect, John Clauser, and Anton Zelinger have each conducted ground-breaking experiments using entangled quantum states, where two particles behave like a single unit even they are separated. Their results have cleared the way for new technology based on quantum information.)

John F . Clauser (Prize share 1/3)

(J.F. Clauser & Assoc., Walnut Creek, CA, USA)

Anton Zeilinger (Prize share 1/3)

University of Vienna, Austria.


(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 was awarded jointly to Carolyn R.Bertozzi, Morten Meldal, and K. Barry Sharpless)

Carolyn R. Bertozzi

(Stanford University, CA, USA)

For the development of click chemistry and biorthogonal chemistry.

(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 is about making difficult processes easier. Barry Sharpless and Morten Meldal have laid the foundation for a functional form of chemistry – Click chemistry – in which molecular building blocks snap together quickly and efficiently. Carolyn Bertozzi has taken click chemistry to a new dimension and started utilizing it in the living organism.

Carolyn R. Bertozzi

Carolyn R. Bertozzi

Morten Meldal

(University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

Morten Meldal

Morten Meldal

K. Barry Sharpless

(Scripps Research, La Jolla, CA, USA)

K. Barry Sharpless

K. Barry Sharpless

Physiology or Medicine Svante Paabo For his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution.

Svante Paabo : Nobel prize 2022

Svante Paabo

Literature Annie Ernaux

(French Author)

The Nobel prize in literature was given to Annie Ernaux “for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory”.

Annie Ernaux

Annie Ernaux

Peace Ales Bialiatski

(Human rights advocate from Belarus)

They have for many years promoted the right to criticize power and protect the fundamental rights of citizens

They have made an outstanding effort to document war crimes, human rights abuses, and the abuse of power. Together they demonstrate the significance of civil society for peace and democracy

Ales Bialiatski : Nobel prize 2022

Ales Bialiatski

The Russian human rights organization Memorial


The Ukrainian human rights organization Centre for Civil liberties

Centre for Civil liberties: Nobel Prize 2022

Centre for Civil liberties

Economics Ben S. Bernanke

(The Brooking Institution, Washington DC, USA)

For research on banks and financial crises.

Ben S. Bernanke - Nobel prize 2022

Ben S. Bernanke

Douglas W. Diamond

(University of Chicago, IL, USA)

Douglas W. Diamond

Douglas W. Diamond

Philip H. Dybvig

(Washington University in St. Louis, MO, USA)

Philip H. Dybvig wiki

Philip H. Dybvig wiki




You can also read:

Thank you 🙂

Spread Your Love

1 Comment

World Wildlife Day - PCSSTUDIES Current Affaires · March 4, 2023 at 12:48 am

[…] Nobel prize 2022 […]

  • Leave a Reply