List of Important Indian National Congress Sessions

The first session of the national congress was held in Bombay in the presidency of Womesh Chandra Bonnergy. In this post, we are listing here important Indian national congress sessions with the place and significant events.

First National Congress Session: Dec. 28-1885, Bombay

Second National Congress Session: Dec. 28-1886, Calcutta

  • President – Dadabhai Naoroji
  • In this session, 436 representatives attended the conference, in this session most significant event was the merger of the National Congress and the national conference.

15th National Congress Session: Dec. 27-28/ 1899, Lucknow 

  • President Ramesh Chandra Dutt
  • In this session, the permanent fixation of Land revenue was demanded.

21st National Congress Session: Dec. 27-30/1905, Banaras 

  • President Gopal Krishna Gokhale
  • Exasperation has shown against the partition of Bengal.

22nd National Congress Session: Dec. 26-29/1906, Calcutta

  • President Dadabhai Naoroji
  • The first time the word ‘Swaraj’ was introduced.

23rd National Congress Session: Dec. 26-27/1907, Surat

  • President Rash Behari Ghosh
  • Congress Party split into Moderates and Extremists.

24th National Congress Session: Dec. 29-30/1908, Madras

  • President Rash Behari Ghosh
  • The Constitution of the congress was drawn.

25th National Congress Session: Dec. 27-29/1909, Lahore

  • President Madan Mohan Malviya
  • Disapproval expressed for Separate electorates on the basis of religion- The Indian Council Act, 1909.

27th National Congress Session: Dec. 26-28/1911, Calcutta

  • President Bishan Narayan Dhar
  • ‘Jana Gana mana’ Sung for the first time

32nd National Congress Session: Dec. 26-30/1916, Lucknow

  • A.C. Majumdar
  • Reunion of congress, the Lucknow pact was signed.

33rd National Congress Session: Dec. 28-29/1917, Calcutta

  • Annie Besant
  • The first women president.

35th National Congress Session: Dec. 27-28/1919, Amritsar

  • Motilal Nehru
  • Strongly condemned the Jalliawala Bagh Massacre.

40th National Congress Session: 1924, Belgaum

  • The only session presided over by Mahatma Gandhi.

41st National Congress Session: Dec. 26-28/1925, Kanpur

  • Sarojini Naidu
  • She was the first Indian women President

43rd National Congress Session: 1927, Madras

  • President Dr. M.A. Ansari
  • resolution against the use of Indian troops in China, Iran, and Mesopotamia.
  • Boycott of Simon commission
  • Adoption of resolution on Purna swaraj.

44th National Congress Session: Dec. 28-31/1928, Calcutta

  • Motilal Nehru
  • All India Youth Congress Formed

45th National Congress Session: Dec. 29-31/1929, Lahore

  • Jawaharlal Nehru
  • Resolution for Purna Swaraj
  • Civil disobedience movement for complete independence announced to launch.
  • 26 January recognized to celebrate as independence day.

46th National Congress Session: March-29/1931, Karachi

  • Vallabh Bhai Patel
  • Fundamental rights and progress of the national economy.
  • Gandhi Irwin Pact

50th National Congress Session: April. 12-14/1936, Faizpur

  • Jawaharlal Nehru
  • The first rural session.

52nd National Congress Session: Feb. 19-21/1938, Haripura

  • Subhash Chandra Bose
  • The National Planning Committee set up under chairman Jawaharlal Nehru

53rd National Congress Session: March 10/1939, Tripuri

  • Subhas Chandra Bose
  • Bose was elected but he resigned in his place Rajendra Prasad became president.

55th National Congress Session: Nov. 23/1946, Meerut

  • Acharya J.B. Kripalani
  • This was the last session before Independence.

56th National Congress Session: Dec. 18-19/1948, Jaipur

  • Pattabhi Sitaramayya
  • The first session after independence.

57th National Congress Session: Sep.21-22/1950, Nasik

  • Purushottam Das Tondon
  • Purusottam Das resigned in 1951 and Nehru became president.

70th National Congress Session: 1965, Durgapur

  • K. Kamaraj
  • Last session.


You can also read:

Thank you 🙂

Spread Your Love


  • Facts of The Swadeshi and Boycott Movement - All Competitive Classes % · February 14, 2021 at 1:09 pm

    […] more information about the national congress, please go through the posts like-  important Indian national congress sessions, Moderate phase of Indian National Congress, and […]

  • Indian National Congress- Moderate Phase - PCSSTUDIES % · February 26, 2021 at 2:55 pm

    […] English civil servant, A.O. Hume formed the Indian National Union later became Indian National Congress with an idea of a “safety valve” to release the growing discontent of Indians. This […]

  • The Home Rule league Movement - PCSSTUDIES % Modern History · March 7, 2021 at 2:33 am

    […] leaders of the Indian National Congress and others like Motilal Nehru, Jawaharlal Nehru, Chittaranjan Das, K.M Munshi, Mohamad Ali Jinnah, […]

  • Simon Commission -1927 - PCSSTUDIES % Modern History · March 15, 2021 at 2:11 am

    […] Commission ‘on each level and in every form’ under the presidency of M.A Ansari in the Madras Session December 1927. Resolution of complete Independence was […]

  • Facts of The Swadeshi and Boycott Movement - PCSSTUDIES % · April 15, 2021 at 7:13 pm

    […]  important Indian national congress sessions, […]

  • Indian National Congress- Moderate Phase - PCSSTUDIES % · June 7, 2021 at 11:43 am

    […] English civil servant, A.O. Hume formed the Indian National Union later became Indian National Congress with an idea of a “safety valve” to release the growing discontent of Indians. This idea […]

  • M. K. Gandhi and His Movements - Modern History PCSSTUDIES % · August 8, 2021 at 8:38 pm

    […]  important Indian national congress sessions, […]

  • August Offer (1940) - PCSSTUDIES History · November 22, 2021 at 6:15 pm

    […] The Congress came in dilemma after the August offer. The offer was rejected by Indians on the mass level. After that Gandhi launched “Individual Satyagraha” to affirm the freedom of speech against the war. Vinoba Bhave was the first Satyagrhi and Jawaharlal Nehru was the second. […]

  • Era of Militant Nationalism in India - PCSSTUDIES History % · November 27, 2021 at 5:49 pm

    […] List of Important Indian National Congress Sessions […]

  • Quit India Movement - PCSSTUDIES - History · December 7, 2021 at 8:20 pm

    […] List of Important Indian National Congress Sessions […]

  • Cripps Mission - 1942 - PCSSTUDIES - History · December 22, 2021 at 6:24 pm

    […] List of Important Indian National Congress Sessions […]

  • Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: