List of Prime Ministers of India

Since 1947 India has had 14 prime ministers, 15 including  Gulzarilal Nanda who twice acted in the role, of which 6 have at least one full term, ruling the country for about 60 years. The first was Prime minister was Jawaharlal Nehru of the Indian National Congress party.

Name of Prime minister Tenure
Jawaharlal Nehru (1889-1964)

Constituency – Phulpur Uttar Pradesh

Jawaharlal Nehru was an Indian independence activist and, subsequently, the first Prime Minister of India. Considered as one of the greatest statesmen of modern India, he was a central figure in Indian politics both before and after independence.

August 15, 1947 – May 27, 1964
Gulzari Lal Nanda (1898-1997) (Acting)

Sabarkantha Lok Sabha constituency Gujarat

Gulzarilal Nanda was an Indian politician and economist who specialized in labour issues. He was the Prime Minister of India for two short periods following the deaths of Jawaharlal Nehru in 1964 and Lal Bahadur Shastri in 1966.

May 27, 1964 – June 9, 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri (1904-1966)

Constituency – Prayagraj Uttar Pradesh

Lal Bahadur Shastri was an Indian statesman who served as the second Prime Minister of India. He promoted the White Revolution – a national campaign to increase the production and supply of milk – by supporting the Amul milk co-operative of Anand, Gujarat, and creating the National Dairy development board.

Underlining the need to boost India’s food production, Shastri also promoted the Green revolution in India in 1965. This led to an increase in food grain production, especially in Punjab, Haryana, and Uttar Pradesh

June 09, 1964 – January 11, 1966
Gulzari Lal Nanda (1898-1997) (Acting) January 11, 1966 – January 24, 1966
Indira Gandhi (1917-1984)

Constituency – Rae Bareli, Uttar Pradesh

Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi was an Indian politician and a central figure of the Indian National Congress. She was the 3rd Prime Minister of India and was also the first and, to date, only female Prime Minister of India

January 24, 1966 – March 24, 1977
Morarji Desai (1896-1995)

Constituency – Surat, Gujarat

Morarji Ranchhodji Desai was an Indian independence activist and politician who served as the 4th Prime Minister of India between 1977 and 1979 leading the government formed by the Janata Party.

March 24, 1977 – July 28, 1979
Charan Singh (1902-1987)

Constituency – Bagpat, Uttar Pradesh

Chaudhary Charan Singh served as the 5th Prime Minister of India between 28 July 1979 and 14 January 1980. Historians and people alike frequently refer to him as the ‘champion of India’s peasants.’

July 28, 1979 – January14, 1980
Indira Gandhi (1917-1984)

Constituency- Medak, Telangana

January 14, 1980 – October 31, 1984
Rajiv Gandhi (1944-1991)

Constituency – Amethi, Uttar Pradesh

Rajiv Ratna Gandhi was an Indian politician who served as the 6th prime minister of India from 1984 to 1989. He took office after the 1984 assassination of his mother, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, to become the youngest Indian prime minister

October 31, 1984 – December 01, 1989
Vishwanath Pratap Singh (1931-2008)

Constituency – Fatehpur, Uttar Pradesh

Vishwanath Pratap Singh, also known as V. P. Singh, was an Indian politician who was the 7th Prime Minister of India from 1989 to 1990 and the 41st Raja Bahadur of Manda. He is India’s only prime minister to have been a former ruler.

December 02, 1989 – November 10, 1990
Chandra Shekhar (1927-2007)

Constituency- Balia, Uttar Pradesh

Chandra Shekhar Singh was an Indian politician who served as the 8th Prime Minister of India, between 10 November 1990 and 21 June 1991. He headed a minority government of a breakaway faction of the Janata Dal with outside support from the Indian National Congress

November 10, 1990 – June 21, 1991
P.V. Narasimha Rao (1921-2004)

Constituency – Nandyal, Andhra Pradesh

Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao was an Indian lawyer and politician who served as the 9th Prime Minister of India from 1991 to 1996.

June 21, 1991 – May 16, 1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1926-2018)

Constituency-  Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was an Indian statesman who served three terms as the prime minister of India, first for a term of 13 days in 1996, then for a period of 13 months from 1998 to 1999, followed by a full term from 1999 to 2004.

May 16, 1996 – June 01, 1996
H.D. Deve Gowda (B-1933)

Constituency- Rajya Sabha MP, Karnataka

Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda is an Indian politician and former Prime Minister of India from 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997. He was previously the 14th Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1994 to 1996

June 01, 1996 – April 21, 1997
I.K. Gujral (1933 -2012)

Constituency- Rajya Sabha MP For Bihar

Inder Kumar Gujral was an Indian diplomat, politician, and freedom activist who served as the 12th prime minister of India from April 1997 to March 1998.

April 21, 1997 – March 18, 1998
Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1926-2018)

Constituency-  Lucknow UP

March 19, 1998 – October 13, 1999
Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1926-2018)

Constituency-  Lucknow UP

October 13, 1999 – May 22, 2004
Dr. Manmohan Singh (B-1932)

Constituency- Rajya Sabha MP for Assam

Manmohan Singh is an Indian economist, academic, and politician who served as the 13th prime minister of India from 2004 to 2014. A member of the Indian National Congress, Singh was the first Sikh Prime minister of India

May 22, 2004 – May 26, 2014
Narendra Modi (B-17 September, 1950,)

Constituency – Varanasi, UP

Shri Narendra Modi was sworn in as India’s Prime Minister on 30th May 2019, marking the start of his second term in office. The first-ever Prime Minister to be born after Independence, Shri Modi has previously served as the Prime Minister of India from 2014 to 2019. He also has the distinction of being the longest-serving Chief Minister of Gujarat with his term spanning from October 2001 to May 2014.

He follows – the motto of ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas’,

PM Modi launched the ‘Make in India’ initiative to turn India into an international manufacturing powerhouse.

PM Modi was honored with the United Nations ‘Champions of the Earth Award.’

Narendra Modi’s clarion call for marking a day as ‘International Day of Yoga’ received an overwhelming response at the UN. In a first, a total of 177 Nations across the world came together and passed the resolution to declare 21st June as the ‘International Day of Yoga at the UN.’

May 26, 2014 – Incumbent


List of Prime Ministers of India

You can also read:


Thank You 🙂

Spread Your Love


Leave a Reply