Schedules of the Indian Constitution and Related Subjects

The Indian Constitution consists of 12 Schedules, these are as follows:

First schedule: (Article 1 and 4)

  • Name of states and their territorial jurisdiction
  • Union territory and its extent

Second Schedule: ( Article- 59(3), 65(3), 75(6), 97, 125, 148(3), 158(3), 164(5), 186 and 221)

  • Provisions related to Salary, emoluments, allowances, privilege, and so on, of-
    • President of India
    • The Governors of state
    • The speaker and deputy speaker of Lok Sabha.
    • Chairman and deputy chairman of Rajya sabha
    • Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the legislative assembly
    • The judges of the supreme court and High court
    • The comptroller and Auditor- General of India

Third Schedule: (Article- 75(4), 99, 124(6), 148(2), 164(3), 188 and 219)

  • forms of Oath and Affirmation of Union ministers, members of parliament, the Comptroller and Auditor General of India, judges of the Supreme court, members of the state legislature, and Judges of the High Court.

Fourth Schedule: (article- 4(1) and 80(2))

  • Allocation of seats of Rajya sabha to States and UTs.

Fifth Schedule: (Article- 244(1))

  • Provisions of administrations and control of Scheduled areas and Scheduled Tribes

Sixth Schedule: (Article- 244(2) and 275(1))

  • Administration of Tribal areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram

Seventh Schedule: (246)

Distribution of power between the Union and State Government in the term of lists.

  • Union list
  • State list
  • Concurrent list

Eighth Schedule: (Article- 344(1) and 351)

Languages recognized by the constitution.

  • Initially 14 languages but in present, there are 22 Languages
  • Bodo, Dongri, Maithili, and Santhali were added by the 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.

Ninth Schedule: (Article- 31-B)

Acts and regulations of the State legislature for Land reforms and the abolition of Zamindari.

  • Initially 13 but at present 282 Acts and regulations.
  • The schedule was added by the first amendment in 1951 and at that time it was not under judicial review but now it is open to judicial review.

Tenth Schedule: (Article-102(2) and 191(2))

  • Related to disqualification of members of parliament and State Legislature on the ground of defection.
  • This is also called anti-defection law.
  • This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985.

Eleventh Schedule: (Article- 243-G)

  • Related to Power, Authority, and responsibilities of panchayats. (rural local government)
  • It contains 29 subjects.
  • Added by the 73rd amendment Act of 1992.

Twelfth Schedule: (Article- 243-W)

  • Related to power, authority, and responsibility of Municipalities (urban local government)
  • Added by the 74th amendment Act of 1992.


trick to learn schedules

Schedules of the Indian Constitution and Related Subjects


You can also read:



Thank you 🙂

Spread Your Love


Leave a Reply